Closing thoughts from a perpetually late being

This is the surprise overly late blog entry. I went back to review my posts, and make sure I was up to date with this course’s blogging when I realized… I never wrote a main entry. So, here it is. Since we have already worked through all of the blogging material, I’m going to focus this post more on some of the overall themes and questions that I’ve been sorting through as a result of the literature we’ve read in this class.

As a Global Studies/English double major I find this class to be SO over the top interesting. I split up my classroom time between material focused on literature, and those focused on globalization. My global classes, however, focus much less on the internal, intimate and personal effects of globalization– which happens to be one of the main themes in this course. For this reason I’ve been so drawn to the characters in the literature we’ve been assigned, and how conflicting the experience of globalization or living as a transnational can be. These readings in Asian American lit. round out all of the hard facts I receive as a Global Studies major.

For me, one particularly interesting theme throughout the course has been the role of the artificial in the realm of globalization. Most of the characters we’ve discussed are directly influenced by an artificial element that comes as a result of the World Wide Web, television, social media– even “Sunny” in Transmission works as a fair representation of this. Globalization seems to have some inherent opacity where there is a disconnect between what we see and what is actually there.

We’ve been given PLENTY of examples of this. Arjun’s expectations of life in America end up being totally backwards, Huyen from Love Like Hate finds a dreary and unexpected reality, G.B. Tran’s family finds less unity in their new life; it is even present in the Matacão, where the seemingly incredible material quickly transforms into nothingness. I think these themes are important to realize in a modern, increasingly interconnected world. I appreciate Transmission for its’ ability to present this idea in a creative and comical way, where Arjun’s deepest fantasy becomes something fatally destructive. I believe it draws certain parallels to the globalization movement, where a simple, honest attempt to better oneself creates unforeseen damage. This can be taken on a personal scale, but also on a much larger scale as well…

Are these ideas awesome or terrifying? I’m undecided.

One thought on “Closing thoughts from a perpetually late being

  1. Well I tried to like this post maybe I’m not logged in just yet but I appreciate this and relate because I am too in Global Studies and this course has dissected in a good way the lives and situations of Asian Americans, South East Asians and East Asians, as important players in growing economies and important players in what goes on in the United States. Transmission has revealed minuscule details that had never crossed my path before and I’m glad to have this knowledge now. How simple the virtual migration/ body shopping (carrying aspects of both) of Arjun in the US is depicted but yet, how complicated these situations are on a personal level for him and other programmers in this situation. Questions of nation and identity arise and how interesting the comic as a medium (“the medium is the message”) and other such texts, express and explain the difficulties as well as advantages of globalization.

Leave a Reply

